Agreement Type

Start Date


Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)



The Indian Institute of Science (IISc) is a public university for scientific research and higher education in Bangalore. Established in 1909 with active support from Jamsetji Tata, it is also known as the “Tata Institute”. It hosts 3,500 students, of which about 2,200 are in various PhD programs, 900 are enrolled for Masters programs, and about 400 are in the research oriented four-year Bachelor of Science program. The institution employs about 500 academic and scientific staff, supported by 600 administrative personnel. Its research strengths include life sciences, advanced computing, and space and nuclear technologies.

IISc has two main faculties:
The Faculty of Science
The Faculty of Engineering

UAlberta Connections
In 2013, Dr. Thomas Thundat, a Canada Excellence Research Chair in the Dept. of Chemical and Materials Engineering, was awarded the prestigious Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Centenary Chair Professorship.

In November 2011, Dr. Karthik Shankar, Professor in the Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, delivered a seminar on “Ordered Heterojunction Excitonic Solar Cells” at IISc.

In September 2010, Dr. Zubin Jacob from Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering delivered a seminar on “Classical and quantum optics of hyperbolic meta-materials” at IISc.

In December 2008, Dr. Sirish Shah from the Dept. of Chemical and Material Engineering delivered a seminar on “Sensor-fusion and signal processing for plant health management” at IISc.

Dr. Rich Sutton, Professor in the Dept. of Computing Science, has collaborated on multiple research projects with colleagues at IISc, resulting in the co-authoring of 6 joint publications.

Dr. Shalabh Bhatnagar, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science and Automation, IISc was a Visiting Professor in the Faculty of Science at UAlberta in 2006, 2008-2009, and 2016. He has co-authored 13 joint publications with UAlberta researchers.

Dr. Vijay Somayaji, Manager of the Drug Development and Innovation Center in the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, received her PhD in Chemistry from IISc.