Agreement Type

Start Date


Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)



Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT) was established under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956, and was founded in 1984 as a self-financing institution called the Vellore Engineering College. The Union Ministry of Human Resources Development conferred University status on Vellore Engineering College in 2001. The University is headed by its founder and Chancellor, Dr. G. Viswanathan, a former Parliamentarian and Minister in the Tamil Nadu Government.

VIT has over 35,000 students who come from every state in India and 60 countries abroad. It employs over 1,400 faculty and 1,413 staff across its campuses in Vellore, Chennai, Bhopal and Amravati Andhra Pradesh.

VIT offers 20 undergraduate programs, 34 postgraduate, four integrated MS courses, and four doctoral programs in the fields of Engineering, Technology, Applied Sciences, and Management. Teaching at VIT is structured around the schools listed below:

  • School of Advanced Sciences (SAS)
  • School of Architecture (V-SPARC)
  • VIT School of Design (V-SIGN)
  • School of Bio Sciences & Technology (SBST)
  • School of Civil Engineering (SCE)
  • School of Computing Engineering (SCOPE)
  • School of Computer Sciences and Engineering (SCSE)
  • School of Electrical Engineering (SELECT)
  • School of Electronics Engineering (SENSE)
  • School of Information Technology & Engineering (SITE)
  • School of Mechanical Engineering (SMEC)
  • School of Social Sciences & Languages (SSL)
  • Department of Physical Education (DPE)
  • VIT Business School (VIT-BS)
  • VIT Law School (at Chennai Campus only)
  • VIT School of Fashion (both in Chennai and Vellore campus)
  • VIT school of Bsc. Catering & Hotel Management

UAlberta Connections
In August 2014, Dr. Nat Kav, Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences (ALES) delivered a lecture at VIT on “Proteomics and Immunotechnology in Agriculture”